WhatsApp’s letting you delete messages after an hour now

Mar 12, 2018

WhatsApp has been tinkering around with its Delete for Everyone feature which allows you to get rid of a message after it’s been sent. While the earlier system only allowed you to have 7 minutes to change your mind, the one allows for 4096 seconds.

This converts to 1 hour, 8 minutes, and 16 seconds. That’s quite a big jump from a mere 7 minutes. We’re not sure why WhatsApp chose this odd sequence instead of just a simple one like 1 hour. Some people have pointed out that 2^12 equals to 4096, so perhaps there’s some deep mathematical reasoning behind it.

Having over an hour at your disposal could allow you to delete more than just a single message. This might be a cause for concern though, as some folks may misuse this to get rid of incriminating texts. The person at the other end of the line will have no choice but to take screenshots in advance if that’s the case.


On the other hand, this 1-hour provision could be a boon for conversations where all the people involved want the chat to get scrubbed out. WhatsApp has only made this extended time limit available to iOS users right now via version 2.18.31 of the app.

The release notes don’t actually mention this change, but it’s there nonetheless. The WhatsApp for Android beta currently has this feature, but it hasn’t been pushed out to the official version yet. It should happen sooner rather than later.

Also Read: WhatsApp Payments feature hits beta users in India

You can download the latest version of WhatsApp via the App Store or Play Store.